Day 2, Sweet Potatoes and Wings

It was only my second day in, and it was too hectic to post. Luckily I have a few hours today to recover and prep some more meals. Here’s a recap of my Whole30 meals yesterday.

Breakfast: frittata with leftover sweet potato, onion and apple slices.

Either blogging makes me hungry, or a salad for dinner is not enough. I got The Hunger a few hours after dinner on day 1 and tore into my lunch leftovers. I think one sausage slice survived overnight and landed in my frittata. I see a lot of Whole30 recipes feature fruit and eggs and I think it’s going to be a regular theme for the next 28 days. After devouring what you see in the picture I also had a slice of mango for extra energy.

I skipped the pre-workout meal and went to an Athletic Conditioning class a few hours later.  I was a little bit hungry, but I felt good and enjoyed running, lifting, squatting and burpee-ing myself silly.  (Just kidding.  I hate burpees.)

Post-workout: Egg whites with sweet potato. I re-read parts of It Starts With Food, and remembered to have a meal-sized serving of protein and starchy vegetable. “A good post-workout meal might be: chicken breast and sweet potato, salmon and butternut squash, or egg whites mixed into mashed pumpkin.” (p. 243)

I tried whipping together a combination of 4 egg whites, 2 sweet potatoes and about 2/3 of a mango.

No picture yet. I’m going to work on this.

Lunch: this bento beauty.
lunch

Cucumber, tomato and avocado salad with cilantro-lemon dressing.  No recipe yet, but the dressing is a green onion, a bunch of cilantro, lemon juice, olive oil and salt, whizzed up in the blender.  Next to the salad is a can of soy-free tuna drizzled with olive oil and some blueberries.

Then life happened. I took this to work and only had a few minutes to gulp it down, and I got home hours later than expected.  Dinner was these wings and some California vegetables from the freezer.  We were exhausted and dirty and I was grateful all I had to do was pop them in the oven.  No pictures, but I will probably make them again.

Leave a Reply

