Day 4: Independence Day and the Best Post-workout Meal Ever

I woke up when the alarm told me to and felt good this morning.  I was excited to try a peach and basil omelette this morning.  I am not tired of fruit and eggs yet.

20140704_083210

I had this with a mug of coffee with coconut milk.  Hubs and I lingered around the table longer than usual and I forgot to eat more than this.

I went to Total Strength at 10:30 and instantly felt a lack of fuel in my system.  The class started with running 3 flights of stairs 5 times and I felt a lot more winded than I normally would.  I thought I hit muscle failure early too.  I kept telling myself I have to have carbs with breakfast.  I kept answering myself with “you had a peach.”  Halfway through the class, however, I almost kept up with the uber-fit ladies and felt like myself.

I went to the grocery store on my way home, forgetting to have the post-workout meal as quickly as possible.  As soon as I could I went for the egg white, sweet potato and mango concoction I made two days ago.  Last time it was too fibery and felt a little uncomfortable in my tummy hours later.  So I decided to add some coconut milk and whizz it up in the blender to break up the fibers.

Ohhhhhhhh lawd.  It was AMAZING.

No picture yet, because I can still improve on it.  But for now the basics are two sweet potatoes, 4 beaten egg whites, a pureed mango and light coconut milk.  It has starchy vegetables, not too much fruit, protein and just a little fat.  I will never again wish I could have a protein shake while doing a Whole30.

I’m calling it the post-workout spoonie.  It is too thick to be a smoothie so I had to eat it with a spoon.  The texture was buttery, light, and tasted just sweet enough.  It’s like buttah.  As someone who does not want to chew after working out, this is perfect.

Lunch is going to be leftover cucumber and tomato salad, zucchini soup and Cuban meatballs.

Today is July 4 and dinner is going to happen on the grill.  I have sirloin steaks marinating in coconut aminos, avocado oil, lemon juice, oregano and basil.  I also have yellow squash from the garden to throw on the grill and I am going to try grilling peaches.  Hubs does not like peaches (I do not understand) so I will have leftovers for breakfast tomorrow.

Right now we plan to skip the fireworks and hope the neighbors will put on a show from the deck.

What are you doing on the 4th?

Leave a Reply

