Day 10, mostly successful

I woke up ready to conquer the world, but I wanted to eat first.

I had sauteed spinach with a little scrambled egg, cherry tomatoes from the garden, plantains fried in coconut oil and some Rainier cherries.  Of course I had this with my daily cup of coffee with coconut milk.

20140710_092250-1

I love ripe plantains.  If you’re reading this and battling the sugar dragon (as described in It Starts With Food), do NOT eat them on a Whole30.  Eat the green ones.  I loved on each bite of these asking myself how it was possible that there was no sugar in them.

After working out I had my post-workout sweet potato pudding.  It has its own post.  Success!

I was so absorbed in writing that post it was suddenly time for me to run to a doctor’s appointment.  I forgot to eat lunch.  Fragnabbit.  Yesterday’s promise to eat three meals sitting down, not delivered.  To avoid getting hangry, I snarfed down leftover taco meat while walking around the house and gathering up my stuff.  Not happy, but as Meat Loaf tell us, two out of three ain’t bad.

When I got home it was time to make dinner.  I was getting excited.

For dinner I made sushi again, inspired by this amazing recipe.  I modified the recipe to make hand rolls, since I lack both the skill and equipment to cut sushi rolls.

First I gathered up my mise en place: thawed shrimp, jicama, cucumber, avocado, and a peeled peach.  I used the julienne blade on my mandolin slicer to make cucumber and jicama matchsticks.  Avocado and peach require a knife.  I still have all my fingertips.  Success!

2014-07-10 18.44.01

Then I cut my nori sheets in half diagonally with my kitchen shears.  So much more fun than slicing a sushi roll!  Sushi purists don’t hate me.

2014-07-10 18.47.18

And I put the ingredients on my nori triangle.

20140710_184916

Finally I rolled up the corners to make a cone, made two more sushi rolls and put them on my plate.

2014-07-10 18.57.26

Hello, gorgeous

While these chilled in the fridge I made jicama chips with some of the leftover jicama.  I sprinkled lime juice on the jicama slices and brushed a little avocado oil on the parchment and brushed a little more on top.  I baked them at 400 for 15 minutes and then 10 more, flipping every 5 minutes.  They taste a lot like apple chips.  Delish!

To finish filling my plate with veggies I threw some raw power greens on it.  I topped it with failed cilantro-lime mayo.  That’s ginger water in my glass.

2014-07-10 19.21.02

Best dinner in a while.  *pats self on back*

 

 

Leave a Reply

