Day 14, Almost Half Way There

Tomorrow I plan to share a list of changes I’ve observed and what I’ve learned during this Whole30.  Today I will offer three confessions:

  1. I’ve stepped on the scale.  A lot.
  2. I use bottled lemon juice with preservatives.
  3. My fish sauce has sugar listed as the last ingredient.

And now on to our regularly-scheduled blog.

This morning I had an omelette with sweet red peppers and asparagus.  I put my tomato on the side because I prefer them raw.  Of course I ate it with some epic bulletproof coffee.

2014-07-14 08.46.21
I did not do a good job scrambling those eggs. Still delish.

See what’s missing from breakfast?  Fruit.  Small surprise:  I didn’t notice the lack of sweet in my meal.  But I did feel a little off during my workout.  I immediately blamed a lack of carbs in my system, but I might try leaving fruit off my breakfast plate and see if my body can adjust.

PWO:  I’m still experimenting with an egg white + starchy vegetable combination that is packable, tastes good and keeps for a few days.  Inspired by the merengue cookie, I whipped some egg whites with mango puree and baked cookie-shaped rounds.  It needs work.  No pictures yet.  I don’t have the recipe quite right yet, but I did snarf down a whole bunch of them after exercising.  This is why I have to put my food on a plate.  I don’t know how many I had.  I also inhaled an entire sweet potato with my bare hands.  It tastes better that way.

Lunch:  Leftover eggplant strata, cucumber and tomato salad with homemade mayo.  It was tasty and filling but lacked excitement.  I had a small handful of cherries and a peach at the end.  That was the only fruit I had today.  Who is this girl?

Dinner:  I defrosted chicken tenderloins this morning thinking I’d bread them with almond meal and bake, but that often disappoints.  I wanted food with grill marks. I busted out my cast iron grill pan and made these lovelies.

2014-07-14 19.39.40

Grilled chicken and just-picked yellow squash made me excited about salad for dinner.  I toasted some sunflower seeds, and filled two bowls with spring mix, cucumber and tomatoes.

20140714_195946

Topped with mayo, (not pictured because the picture is prettier that way) this was the perfect summer meal.  Nom nom nom, salad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

