Day 17: The Eggplant is Neither Egg nor Plant. Discuss

I woke up hungry, yay!

I didn’t put enough food on my plate last night, but instead of reaching for a snack before bed, I let my tummy rumble a little bit.  

So glad I did, because I woke up ready for some protein and veggies.  

2014-07-17 21.18.04Breakfast: Omelette with sauteed eggplant, tomatoes and onions, a peach and some bulletproof coffee.  I put so much veg in the pan the eggs barely held it all together.  

Pre workout: Nothing three dried apricots I ate while packing my lunch.

Lunch:  This bootylicious salad with spring mix, salmon salad, pickles, tomatoes, snow peas, dried apricots and slivered almonds.  Dressing was avocado oil and lemon juice.  

2014-07-17 21.17.37

DInner:  Eggplant noodles with roasted tomatoes, shrimp and basil.  

This was my first attempt at eggplant noodles.  I normally use zucchini or yellow squash, but it has not been a great year for either in my garden.  (Tomatoes are another story, which is why they are on my plate at every meal.)  So instead of zucchini I thought I’d try eggplant.

This is how I make veggie noodles.

The humble julienne peeler.  Get it on Amazon for under ten bucks.
The humble julienne peeler. Get it on Amazon for under ten bucks.

I don’t have one of those fancy spiralizer thingies nor do I have room in my kitchen for another gadget (although I do have a birthday later this month.)

I’m not going to share how this dish came together because I can make it better.  The noodle-shaped eggplant strips turned brown in seconds, which made them unappealing as spaghetti replacement.  

2014-07-17 21.17.11

They would, however, make a tasty lo mein.  I am going to try again with an Asian-y sauce, snow peas, and whatever protein I have on hand.  

I’ll let you know when I do.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 17: The Eggplant is Neither Egg nor Plant. Discuss

Leave a Reply

