Day 24: I Got New Toys

At the tail end of this W30, I am starting to experience the blissful W30 sleep.  Problem is, my body likes going to bed at midnight and waking up at 8.  Adjusting back to my school schedule is going to be ugly.

I had some great eats yesterday that I’m excited to share with you.

Breakfast: scrambled eggs with prosciutto and cherry tomatoes, avocado and pineapple chunks not pictured.

2014-07-25 09.18.12

I tried to crisp the prosciutto in a frying pan to make “bacon,” but it was way too salty.  It’s better mixed with eggs, or wrapped around fruit.  I also had only 2 eggs left and a husband to feed, so I used two whole eggs and 1/3c of whites (from a carton.)  I couldn’t tell much of a difference.

I had to skip my workout due a dentist appointment.  It may be due to better flossing habits, but W30x2 = shorter time in the dentist’s chair and no lectures from the hygienist.  Cutting out sugar obviously affects dental health, but there has to be more to it.  Ever notice during a W30 that gum cravings disappear?  Even if the meal was loaded with garlic, do you too feel less need to ask for a mint?  I noticed this the first time around, and as soon as the 30 days were over, I needed to chomp on gum to clean my mouth after eating.  And that affect in my mouth that I can sense, does the rest of my body feel that clean too?  Another reason not to quit.

I brought lunch to work for Hubs and I: spring mix, baba ganoush as dressing, avocado chunks, leftover pork tenderloin, kiwi and orange slices to share.

2014-07-25 09-1.17.56

I was hungry again in exactly four hours.  I couldn’t wait to get home and wrap up dinner, pineapple fried (cauliflower) rice.

Before I left the house yesterday, I riced a head of cauliflower.  (Easier than it sounds, I pulsed raw cauli in the food processor until it was rice-sized.)  I’ve had watery results in the past, but I remembered reading this blog post from The Clothes Make the Girl about making cauli rice in the oven.  The only part I disagreed with was using two wooden spoons to combine the cauli and coconut oil.  Warm that waxy stuff in your hands and give that white veggie some lovin’!  Then go wash your hands.

Okay, you know you’re on a Whole30 when roasting cauliflower and think to yourself, “wow, it smells so good in here.”  The lovely tanned cauli rice came out of the oven right before I had to leave.  I let it steam for a few minutes so it could dry a little more, wrapped it in foil, covered it with a dishcloth and let it hang out on the stovetop.  Don’t do this if you have a great dane.

I used the Neely’s recipe as inspiration.  I haven’t had cable TV in years, but I used to love their show.

I sauteed a little green onion (from the stalks that sit in water in my kitchen window) with about 1/4 vidalia onion in coconut oil.  I added garlic and ginger after pushing them through a garlic press.  Then I dropped in two stalks of chopped bok choy and about a cup of chopped pineapple.  I walked away and let it turn golden brown and delicious, Alton Brown style.  Right at the end I added leftover grilled squash and eggplant and finally the cauliflower rice.  It all got a sprinkle of coconut aminos, sesame oil and fish sauce.  I put a ginormous chinese-restaurant sized portion in a bowl and topped it with pork tenderloin slices.

2014-07-25 09-1.17.34

Know the best thing about cauliflower rice?  I can eat all I want with no blood sugar surge.  A serving of regular rice half that size would have me passed out on the couch, chugging water and going for another injection after mustering the energy to stand up again.  Suck it, rice.

If you’ve never had cauli rice, it does not look, taste or feel like rice.  It’s cauliflower.  But it’s delicious.

I  may or may not have eaten a handful of nuts while watching Netflix last night.  I need to toss that bag of nuts in the trash.

Oh, and I bought some new toys yesterday.  There is an Aldi down the street from my dentist’s office, so I stopped in for eggs and kitchen sponges.  I walked out $50 later with two dozen eggs, a pack of sponges, avocados, cherries, organic spring mix, organic kale, a pineapple, mini peppers more stuff I can’t recall right now and some toys.  Aldi is selling food dehydrators for $19.99.  I couldn’t walk away from that.  I also got one of those pineapple corer/slicer thingies and a 4-pack flexible cutting boards, because I am constantly washing cutting boards.

Last night I made kale chips, jicama chips and dried plantain slices.  The best kale chips I ever had made topped my baked eggs this morning.  Jicama chips are SWYPO.  They won’t make me run for a bag of Lay’s, but I ate the whole batch before I noticed what I was doing.

Today I am going to try dried sweet potato, tomatoes and oranges.  Then I will be mindful about eating it.

Come back for adventures with a cheapie food dehydrator!

 

 

One thought on “Day 24: I Got New Toys

  1. Awesome posts! This is such great advice. If you want support after your whole30, meal ideas, and post whole30 users Check out TwoGrand. http://www.twogrand.com/whole30-diet

    TwoGrand is also a great way to expand your blog audience by sharing your awesome content to hundreds of users.

    Best of luck with the end of your whole30!

Leave a Reply

