Rice and Shrimp and Pineapple, oh my!

I finished my last Whole30 a week ago and fully intended to keep going.  That’s easier said than done.  I told myself that I’d continue eating grain, dairy, legume, alcohol and processed food free, but it’s so easy to cheat when I’m not counting days and there’s ice cream in the freezer.

Now that the ice cream is tossed out digested, dairy is definitely off the table.  As crazy as it sounds, if I eat dairy I will be in pain.  After last night’s workout I had plantar fasciitis pain with a vengeance.  I barely felt it at all during the W30 and ice cream is the only cheat food I’ve had.

Goodbye ice cream, goodbye cheese.

So here’s my goal.  I want to enjoy three “template” meals per day, avoid snacks, and plan like I’m on a Whole30.  I will allow myself limited SWYPO dishes like these amazing grain-free tortillas, but I won’t make brownies with date paste.  My blood sugar doesn’t acknowledge a difference between dates and plain old white sugar.

I’m also going back to work soon and will bring back the weekly cook-up.  My plan for the blog is to share how I plan my meals on Sundays.  I also want to reserve one weeknight  each week to cook and then share a new recipe or review of an existing one.

So here goes.  I made cauliflower rice with shrimp in a pineapple bowl.

I started by ricing a whole cauliflower in the food processor, using Melissa Joulwan’s Oven-Roasted Cauliflower Rice recipe.  I made more than I needed so I could have more on hand.

2014-08-06 16.57.48

I chopped 1/2 of a large onion, 2 cloves of garlic and a thumb-size knob of ginger.  I gave it a long, slow saute so I didn’t bother pushing the garlic and ginger through a press.

2014-08-06 16.57.33

I had green onion, two skinny eggplants and a zucchini on hand so I chopped and added those too.

2014-08-06 16.57.15

I used a pineapple corer to separate the edible fruit from the shell and then sliced it longwise to make two bowls.  I’m not promoting that specific corer, I found one at Aldi once.  Excuse the stock photo, I didn’t take my own picture of this step.  I recommend popping the pineapple bowls in the oven so the whole dish is served warm.

pineapple

Made my yummy sauce with light olive oil, lemon juice, coconut aminos, fish sauce, sesame oil and sesame seeds.

2014-08-06 16.57.00

Chopped 1/2 cup of pineapple and added it to the skillet.

2014-08-06 16.56.45

Added the shrimp being careful not to overcook and finally the sauce.

2014-08-06 16.56.31

 

Dished one ladle of cauliflower rice in my pineapple bowl and topped it with the shrimp and veggies.

2014-08-06 16.56.12

And of course I did the same with the other pineapple bowl.

This, my friends, is as close to an exotic vacation as I can get from my own kitchen.

Cauliflower Rice with Shrimp and Pineapple

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 head cauliflower
  • 1T coconut or olive oil
  • 1 pineapple shell plus 1/2 cup chopped pineapple meat
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 thumb of ginger
  • Any leftover veggies hanging around (zucchini, yellow squash, eggplant, bok choy, bell peppers, carrot or celery would be delicious)
  • 10-15 raw shrimp with shells and tails removed
  • 3T olive or avocado oil
  • 2T coconut aminos
  • 1t lemon juice
  • 1t fish sauce
  • 1t sesame oil
  • palmful of sesame seeds

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 425.  Using the pulse function on a food processor, pulse the cauliflower 10-15 times until the cauliflower looks like rice.  Add 1 tablespoon of oil and transfer to a foil-lined baking sheet.  Bake for 25 minutes or until rice is slightly brown and toasty.

2.  While cauliflower rice is baking, chop the onion, garlic and ginger.  Saute in a large frying pan over low heat for 15 minutes.  Add any other veggies you like and saute until softened.

3.  Using a pineapple corer, remove the top, bottom, core and meat from the pineapple.  Cut core in half lengthwise to make two bowls.  Chop 1/2 cup pineapple meat and add to frying pan.  Heat the bowls in the oven with the cauliflower if desired.

4.  In a small bowl, whisk together the 3T of olive oil, coconut aminos, lemon juice, fish sauce, sesame oil and sesame seeds.

5.  Push the veggies to the side of the frying pan and add the shrimp.  Turn as soon as they turn pink, add the sauce and remove from heat as soon as the shrimp are cooked.

6.  Scoop one ladle-full of the cauliflower rice in each pineapple “bowl” and fill with the shrimp and veggie mixture.

7.  Serve with a loved one and plan your next tropical vacation.

One thought on “Rice and Shrimp and Pineapple, oh my!

Leave a Reply

