Sunday Cookup 1: Hi Ho Hi Ho

It’s back to school I go.  Tomorrow.

Last year around this time I started a tradition of Sunday cookups, spending Sunday afternoon in the kitchen so I wouldn’t have to think about what to make for dinner after working all day.  

I loved it.  

I loved having knife time, getting the fridge organized, and I especially loved always having something prepared and healthy  when I got home.  I usually followed up with a Facebook post about what I made, which got a lot of attention both online and in real life.  People who I didn’t think paid any attention to my FB posts would ask me about what I made or give me a nice compliment about how pretty the pictures were.  It also got me thinking about starting a food blog.

So now that I have to return to my professional job, the Sunday cookup is back.  My plan is to follow the cookup with a blog post.  I hope this gives you ideas of what to prepare in advance, and see if I can become more efficient with my weekend knife time.

A few months in to weekly cooking last year, I started doing a big cookup on Sunday, followed by a mini-cookup on Wednesday nights.  Why?  Because eating a lunch on Friday that I packed on Sunday is gross.  

So here’s what I cooked today.  I started around 11:30 am and finished around 2:00 pm.  That’s too long.  Room for growth, yay!

Breakfasts

When I got home from church I wanted almond flour pancakes with fig jam.  Don’t judge.  I’m not doing a W30 right now.  I’m also pretty certain that paleo pancakes won’t make me miss IHOP.  I used this recipe sans syrup, ate a small stack, and thought about adding banana.  So I defrosted a frozen banana, mashed it up in the batter and cooked the rest.  Better without the banana.  

2014-08-17 18.45.36

I also made a dozen egg cups with diced peaches and Aidell’s chicken apple sausage.  I used a cup of egg whites and 6 whole eggs, not because I’m worried about fat and cholesterol, but because I have an open carton of egg whites in the fridge. 2014-08-17 18.45.06

Lunches

I made Vietnamese Cabbage and Chicken Salad.  Oh emm gee.  So good!  The flavors remind me of the dishes we eat at our favorite Vietnamese restaurant.  I would almost say our favorite Vietnamese place can suck it, but it can’t.  We’ve been going there for years.  I followed the recipe as written.  I’m not sure what savoy cabbage is, so I used 5 cups of regular green cabbage.  I omitted the sugar and used a squeeze of Sriracha instead of a red chili.  Yes, I used rooster sauce.  I’m not on a strict W30 right now.

I packed three bento boxes with this salad, cherry tomatoes and more chicken.  I will not get tired of this.  I packed a tiny container of dried-tomato mayo to boost the fat content of my lunches.  No one wants to be starving at 3 o’clock.

Nom Nom Viet Nam
Nom Nom Viet Nam

Ready to grab and go in the morning.

2014-08-17 19.38.40
I packed a small peach and 4 figs in my lunch bag too.

Dinners

I made a big booty salad.

2014-08-17 18.44.34

And some green Italian dressing.

2014-08-17 19.38.24

I have no idea who gets credit for this dressing.  I saw it on Facebook, took a screen shot and made a pin a long time ago.

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 7.56.59 PM

This dressing smells like herb heaven and is delicious with raw greens, but holy garlic and onion, Batman!  Next time I am going to roast the garlic and onion before mixing.  Meanwhile I will keep the vampires at a safe distance.  What you see in the jar was mixed with mayo to tone down the raw garlic and onion flavor.

Hubs and I grilled burgers for dinner tonight and made extras for a quick weeknight protein.  We also grilled some potato slices, one sweet and one yukon gold I had laying around.  I am making a sad face because we didn’t have more potatoes.  We ate them all except for two sweet potato slices.  Grilled potato slices, yum.

It doesn’t look like I have much planned for dinners, but we have Applegate hot dogs, Aidell’s sausages and a big ol’ Costco bag of salmon fillets in the freezer.  Sausages only take a minute and no one wants reheated salmon.

During my cookup I also made and gave away a jar of fig jam because my trees are still going nuts.  I’d share the recipe but I don’t measure.  Figs, dates, freshly squeezed OJ, lemon juice, salt and ground chia seeds.  I cut the figgies in quarters, put them in a pan with a little water, add the other liquids and let it boil down for about 30 minutes.  Then I use an immersion blender to smooth out the chunks and add the chia seed powder at the end.  It’s the bomb.com on a sweet potato, or mixed with oil and balsamic to make a salad dressing.  I try to avoid eating it by the spoonful.

Snacks

Just kidding.  That’s been my weakness since finishing my July W30.  For some reason I can abstain from snacking only when I’m counting days and keeping a blog of every single thing I eat.  I don’t want to keep counting days, but I want to be accountable for my snacking habits.  So I am going to challenge myself to not eat any snacks this week.  I will report back.

One thought on “Sunday Cookup 1: Hi Ho Hi Ho

  1. All of this looks fabulous! My weakness is sugar/desserts/ice cream/chocolate…the list goes on! But when I abstain from it I do feel SO MUCH BETTER. The summer really sent me in the opposite direction as I ate out a lot and stopped for ice cream a lot. It’s time to get back on track:)

Leave a Reply

