Sunday Cookup #4: A Case of the Sickies

I have the Sunday Blues.

Not because I’m back to work tomorrow, but because I had the sniffles all weekend.  I wanted to make better use of my Saturday than sleeping and watching movies on the recliner.

But on the brighter side, I was feeling well enough today to prepare some healthy and appetizing meals.  I got rolling around 3:30 this afternoon and finished cleaning around 6:00.  Normally I would have wanted to finish sooner, but I allowed myself to move slower because I am still a little sniffly.

Grab and Go Breakfasts:

boiled eggs

Paleo Banana Bread

2014-09-14 18.48.33

This is NOT Whole30 approved, and you don’t have my permission to make this if you’re on a full-fledged Whole30.  I don’t normally make sweet baked goods, but I had some bananas in the freezer that needed to be used.  I made mine with 4 bananas instead of 3, cashew instead of almond flour.  I skipped the honey, almond and vanilla extracts.  Because I found previous batches of this his bread a little too wet, I added 1/4 cup coconut flour. Good call.

Proteins

I have some kalua pig in the slow-cooker right now.  I used a pork loin because that’s what I found.  It will be ready when I wake up in the morning, so I’ll have to review it some other time.  I follow multiple Whole30 groups of Facebook, and people rave about this recipe almost daily.  I finally decided to give it a try.

Burgers per Hubs’ request.

Another recipe people rave about on FB is this Spaghetti Squash Pizza Casserole.

2014-09-14 18.47.43I did stray from the original recipe, so allow me to explain.  I started with two small spaghetti squashes.  I sliced them down the middle, removed the seeds and baked them cut-side down at 400 for 30 minutes.  While the squash was cooking, I chopped and sauteed 1/2 large onion, baby bella mushrooms and a green pepper.  I browned a pound of lean ground beef in another skillet.

I smeared a thin coat of coconut oil on the bottom of my baking dish and scooped the squash out of the shell.  I mixed together the meat, veggies, squash and 1/2 jar compliant marinara sauce.  Then I added the secret ingredient, 5 lightly beaten eggs.  Pour over the casserole and stir until they kind of disappear into the dish.  Result is a warm, gooey casserole that will take you back to childhood, but without any weird additives or dairy.

Veggies

A big booty salad. (Not interesting or photo-worthy)

Mashed potatoes with chicken broth coconut milk.

Roasted radishes, carrots and onion.

2014-09-14 18.48.13

I wish I made more, since I hardly have any left after packing two lunches.  I roasted the veg this morning after frying bacon for our slow, sit-down breakfast.  I drained most of the fat and piled the chopped radishes, carrots and onions in the same skillet with a few shakes of thyme and kosher salt.  The veg roasted for 50 minutes at 400, stirring after 20 and after 40 minutes.  That was the first time I ever cooked radishes, and it did not disappoint.

What’s the sauce in my lunch containers?  Nope, it’s not mayo.  It’s my favorite new dressing, equal parts oil, vinegar, orange juice concentrate and tahini.  Mix it in a blender, or stick an immersion blender in a jar, like making mayo.  It’s amazing.  Don’t trust me on this, make it yourself.

So after a few hours effort we have tasty and healthy food already ready during a hectic work week.  I wish we had more opportunities during the week to sit down and slowly enjoy a meal together, but this is real life.

See you next week.

Leave a Reply

